Stitch Fix

Stitch Fix is a service that gives you a ‘personal stylist’ at the palm of your hands. Each month for 20.00 (that goes towards the cost of your clothing) you receive a box of 5 hand picked for you clothing, jewelry, and accessory items. 

I scheduled my first fix and received it this afternoon. I was looking forward to it.I really was. I felt like..how could they go wrong? I wanted preppy items and mentioned I pretty much only shop at Madewell. I also set my price range to be much higher than most.

Notice there are no pictures? Really.. it was so bad I didn’t bother. I ended up keeping an ugly bracelet because it only cost an additional $8.00 plus my prepaid 20.00 styling fee.

At least they give you a prepaid shipper to ship things back you don’t like.

I started reading blogs about Stitch Fix and for the most part everyone seems to really like this service. But then I look at their pictures and most of the clothing is hideous and ill-fitting.. but because it was picked out “for you” people seem to go crazy for it. The total for my clothing was over 300.00 and honestly.. I could have gotten better clothes at Wal-Mart. The quality ISN’T there.  

I walked into the Buckle 2 weeks ago.. and talk about ‘personal stylist’.. I was in a dressing room trying on clothes within 30 seconds of walking in that store. This girl found my size immediately and brought me 3 pairs of jeans that fit me like a glove. She picked out accessories and clothing to match that looked amazing. And many dollars later.. but only 30 minutes within the store.. I had the best shopping experience possible.  

My point is, if I am going to spend 300+ dollars on clothing.. It better be the highest quality and best experience. Plus.. it better fit!

If you’d like to know what I got from Stitch Fix.. 1 granny cardigan straight out of the 60’s, 1 super tight stretchy sweater, 1 skinny jean, 1 granny blouse, and 1 granny bracelet. I swear.. there IS a difference between pretty/classic and grandma style.

I’m sorry for the long rant! That was just quite disappointing and I couldn’t get that garbage out of my house fast enough. 

Leave a Reply

